Currently Reading: Christmas with Billy and Me

Christmas with Billy and Me (Billy and Me #1.5)
Author: Giovanna Fletcher
First Published: November 6, 2014
Publisher: Penguin UK
Pages: 49 (Paperback)
Rating: 4/5

One of my favorite things to do during the holiday season is curl up in bed with a Christmas-themed book and a lovely holiday cuppa. So this year, I curled up with “Christmas With Billy and Me,” because I needed a short break from all my last-minute holiday shopping and wrapping. The novella was so cute, and took less than an hour to read (but I’m also a relatively fast reader). It made me smile, which is always a good sign for holiday-themed novellas.

“Christmas With Billy and Me” takes a little after “Billy and Me,” and involves Sophie being recruited to help plan a proposal at her café in Rosefront Hill. Billy is also a featured character, but the novella really shines a light on Sophie’s new “patchwork family.”

The book is only 49 pages long, so I finished it rather quickly. It’s a cute read, definitely something that would lift your spirits even just a bit if you’re feeling down. I totally guessed who the secret proposer was, but it was still a really sweet story.

I liked that we got to learn more about Sophie’s new family, now that her mother has a boyfriend with kids. It was lovely seeing that new dynamic – what Sophie likes to call her “patchwork family.” It felt more like a filler chapter than a proper book, so that readers would be prepared and psyched for “Always with Love” (which was released earlier this year), but it was rather enjoyable nonetheless. Plus, it did its job well – I’m ready to read the proper sequel to “Billy and Me” now!


To Buy or Not to Buy: Borrow it from a friend or the library. Or get the e-book as it’s inexpensive. It’s a cute story but I’m not sure how much I’d spend on a novella like this – plus I’m not sure if it’s quite necessary to read in between the two books. But if you (like me) need the full collection of a book series, then get it!

Extras: The Fletchers are notorious for being Christmas lovers – they’ve once had their Christmas tree up in November! The novella also includes Giovanna Fletcher’s tips for a “Very Merry Christmas,” which were rather cute. So if you’d like to see her tips, get the book! (And watch her Vlogmas for extra Christmas fun!)

