Currently Sipping: Sullivan Street Tea & Spice Company’s Lychee Green

I occasionally find myself exploring the West Village. It’s one of the parts of the city that I’m still not very familiar with, even though I’ve lived here my entire life. So one day, after meeting a friend for ice cream, I stumbled across the Sullivan Street Tea & Spice Company. The minute I saw tea, I knew I was going into the store – never mind the fact that I had just bought some new tea at the neighboring DAVIDsTEA earlier that same day.

The Sullivan Street Tea & Spice Company is absolutely adorable, and heaven for those who love spices and tea. It wasn’t very busy, so I got to sniff a few teas and ended up buying a few. One of my favorites from the ones I bought was the Lychee Green tea – a combination of two things from my childhood.


I knew I was going to bring this tea home the minute I smelled it in the store – the lychee scent is so strong and sweet, yet the underlying grassy green tea prevents the tea from smelling cloyingly sweet.


Pre-Brewing Thoughts

  • I love that this tea is in hand-rolled balls! It’s so much easier to measure these, mainly because I don’t have to grab my spoon. It’s too early in the morning to deal with all of that.
  • It smells so good and sweet and juicy – like a lychee! I wonder if the scent transfers into flavor in the tea…
  • Two balls are totally enough. I think. I’ll be re-steeping it quite a few times…

Tasting Notes

  • TYPE: Green tea | Flavored
  • DIRECTIONS: Not written anywhere…
    • I used two balls for my 16-ounce travel mug, steeped at 175ºF and just left the leaves in the travel mug all day, re-steeping the tea with the hot water machine at the office.
  • BLEND: Hand rolled green tea leaves infused with lychee.
  • SCENT: Lychee with a slight grassy undertone.
  • BREW: Rather light yellow (until I forgot about it, then it turned almost amber).
  • TASTE: The first few sips were extremely lovely – I was just lazy today and left the leaves in my travel mug’s basket and didn’t take them out so the final few sips of each steeping were a bit bitter. Each steeping started with a lovely lightly sweet note, with a grassy finish. Each re-steep was still very flavorful – even my final steep at home when I finally transferred out the leaves.
  • RATING: 4.5/5 – I’m in love with this tea. When brewed properly, it’s absolutely delicious – and even when I leave the leaves in, it never got too astringent or bitter (or maybe I’m just used to that flavor in tea…)
