Currently (Re)Reading: The Truth About Forever

The Truth About Forever
Author: Sarah Dessen
First Published: May 11, 2004
Publisher: Penguin Press
Pages: 374 (Paperback)
Rating: 5+/5

Sarah Dessen is the reason I fell in love with the Young Adult genre. There’s just something magical about her books, and I end up rereading them over and over, falling in love with the heroines every time. It’s easy to like all of Dessen’s heroines too – they’re all super relatable, ordinary girls that go through life like everybody else. But there’s just something extra special about “The Truth About Forever,” making it my all-time favorite book. This book has become my security blanket – I grab it when I’m about to start a new adventure, when I’m in a sad mood, when it’s dark and gloomy outside… Essentially, any time I need a cuddle, I grab my fleece blanket, a cup of tea, and this book, and I know everything will be alright.

“The Truth About Forever” is all about Macy Queen’s unexpected summer adventure. It’s the first summer after her father’s tragic passing, and Macy has agreed to take over her brainy boyfriend’s boring library job while he’s away at Brain Camp. It’s shaping up to be a regular, calm summer, working in the library during the day and studying for the SATs at night. But she suddenly gets an opportunity to join Wish, a chaotic catering company, and the summer suddenly turns into a whirlwind adventure… causing Macy to question everything about her life.

I’ve reread this book so many times, it’s almost embarrassing. But no matter how many times I’ve read it, I still fall in love with Macy and Wes. “The Truth About Forever” is where I started to believe in love, and to believe in taking risks. Sure, it’s sometimes better to be safe than sorry, but life is also all about taking risks and venturing down unknown paths. This is the lesson that Macy ends up learning the summer after her father’s unexpected passing; what “The Truth About Forever” is all about. She also learns that perfection isn’t everything, and that sometimes flaws are what make things (and people) interesting.

This book is also where I learned the term “sa-woon.” There are swoonworthy guys, but there are also guys that make your heart literally “sa-woon.” Two syllables. And Wes Baker is definitely a guy that will make you “sa-wooooooon.” He has that reformed bad boy with a heart of gold vibe going on – and isn’t that every girl’s dream guy? Plus, he’s totally family oriented and super artistic. Who doesn’t want a guy who takes care of his family (after disappointing them by getting arrested) and is super creative and artistic?! He and Macy grow extremely close this summer, working at Wish and just hanging out – basically dating each other since they’re both “on breaks” with their significant others. And at the end of the summer, Macy ends up needing to make a choice – does she choose Wes, the guy who makes her literally “sa-woon,” or Jason, the brainy and safe guy who had “been her whole life” since her father passed away.

There’s just so many things that I love about this book. I love that Macy ended up meeting this new crowd that helped her crawl out of the cocoon she wrapped herself in. I love that we got to see her go from trying to make everything fine and perfect, to realizing that life isn’t about perfection – it’s about accepting flaws and just living life. I also love that she meets her new best friend, Kristy Palmetto, who’s this confident, sassy, kickass female that Macy desperately needed in her life. Kristy doesn’t let anything get her down and will rock anything she wears like she’s on a catwalk – despite the fact that she has these huge scars from a car accident. She dreams about meeting extraordinary boys and pushes Macy out of her comfort zone to become this amazing butterfly.

Also, Wes and Macy are the definition of YA couple goals. I’m pretty sure reading “The Truth About Forever” while I was learning about crushes ruined boys for me forever. I mean, will I ever meet a boy as amazing as Wes in real life? Maybe. But I’m still waiting to meet some extraordinary boys.


TO BUY OR NOT TO BUY: BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT. I swear, if this book is not passed down to your future teenage daughters, you will regret it.

EXTRAS: Here’s my favorite quote from “The Truth About Forever:”

“It’s just that…I just think that some things are meant to be broken. Imperfect. Chaotic. It’s the universe’s way of providing contrast, you know? There have to be a few holes in the road. It’s how life is.”

