Currently Sipping: Harney & Sons’ Winter White Earl Grey

Everybody knows that I love tea. I especially love Earl Grey tea – my new favorite tea latte is the London Fog. My absolute favorite version of Earl Grey is Twinings’ Lady Grey, but since I’m out and won’t get more until I trek off to the UK (because I’ve tried the Twinings of USA version and it is not the same), I’ve been trying different variations from different tea shops. I found Harney & Sons’ Winter White Earl Grey sometime last winter and loved it, so I’m drinking it until I can stock up on my usual Lady Grey.

img_0840

Winter White Earl Grey is also a perfect cup of tea for a lazy day at home. There’s something about any version of Earl Grey that’s just so comforting – maybe it’s the bergamot? Not quite sure what the magic factor is, but I’m glad I always have some version of Earl Grey stocked in my cupboard.

img_0842

Pre-Brewing Thoughts

  • Mmmmm… bergamot.
  • Super excited since this won’t be as strong as regular earl grey because WHITE TEA.
  • Wonder why I didn’t break this tea out earlier this year… winter is almost over.
  • Still a perfect weekend to drink any tea with “winter” in its name…

img_0848

Tasting Notes

  • TYPE: White tea | Flavored
  • DIRECTIONS: 1 1/4 tsp per 8 ounces of water | Steep 3 min in 175ºF
    • I used 3 teaspoons for my 20-ounce mug, steeped for 1.5 minutes at 195ºF
  • BLEND: Mutan White tea, bergamot oil
  • SCENT: Citrusy.
  • BREW: Light orange.
  • TASTE: Like a lighter regular Earl Grey – a bit more vegetal due to the tea base being Mutan White tea.
  • RATING: 4.5/5 – It’s one of my favorite Earl Grey variations… probably why I always have it stocked in the cupboard.
